Are you looking for a Virginia homeschool driver’s education program? The homeschooled population in Virginia has risen 5% over the past five years. Now, homeschoolers comprise 3% of the state’s total student enrollment.
While private and public schools offer on-site driver’s education courses, you might be wondering about a homeschool driver’s license…
Our Virginia, state-approved driver education program is full of the information you need to be confident behind the wheel whether you are homeschooled or not.
Read on to learn how to enroll and what to expect.
How to Get Your License if You’re Homeschooled
Virginia residents between the ages of 15 years 6 months and 18 years old must meet certain criteria before receiving a state-issued driver’s license:
- Obtaining a learner’s permit
- Complete in a classroom driver education course
- Complete a parent/student driver education component (if required)
- Complete behind-the-wheel driver education instruction
Let’s take a look at each of these requirements in greater detail to fulfill Virginia homeschool driver’s education (or any student for that matter).
Obtain a Learner’s Permit
You have to crawl before you can walk and you have to learn before you drive.
Once you are at least fifteen years and six months hold, you are eligible for a learner’s permit. Complete the learner’s permit application form from the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) and apply online.
When you go to the DMV, you’ll be required to pass two tests before you receive your permit:
- A vision screening
- A two-part knowledge exam
Concerned about the exam? As long as you study the Virginia Driver’s Manual, you’ll be fine. This manual includes everything you need to know about how to drive safely and defensively, covering topics such as:
- Virginia motor vehicle laws
- Traffic signs
- Basic road rules
- Safe driving techniques
Before you go in for your tests, make sure to read the instructions carefully and bring all required documentation to the DMV.
Take an In-Classroom Driver Education Course
If you are under the age of 18, you’ll need to hold your learner’s permit for at least nine months before you can apply for your official driver’s license.
In addition, you’ll need to provide proof that you successfully completed a state-approved driver education program. If you’re a homeschool student, you can take this course at a few different places, including:
- A public school
- A private school
- An approved, parent-led correspondence course
- A commercial driver training school
Thankful, Colonial Driving School’s Teen Drivers Education is designed to fulfill the in-classroom requirement and more. We offer both classroom and behind-the-wheel training designed to help young drivers get their license and stay safe.
90-Minute Parent/Student Driver Education Component
As part of your in-classroom education requirement, the Virginia DMV also requires that certain students complete a minimum of 90-minutes of in-person training with their parents.
- Parental responsibilities regarding young driver behavior
- Driving restrictions for young drivers
- The dangers of driving while intoxicated
Students who must participate in this additional component include those under the age of 18 who live in Planning District 8 and live in the following counties and cities in VA:
- Arlington County
- Fairfax County
- Loudoun County
- Prince William County
- Falls Church
- Manassas Park
Complete In-Car Driver Education Instruction
The last step is to complete the behind-the-wheel portion of your driver education program. Virginia homeschool driver’s education is the same as those who go to public schools.
At Colonial Driving School, we’ve got you covered no matter where you go to school.
Our Behind-the-Wheel teen driving program consists of seven, 100 minute lessons, broken into 50 minutes of driving time and 50 minutes of classroom instruction. In the seventh lesson, we’ll administer the DMV Road Skills Exam to test your abilities.
Do your homework and learn some extra tips to avoid failing the road skills exam so you can pass the first time around.
As long as you pass that exam, and already have your other prerequisites in place, you can receive a provisional driver’s license the same day!
For more information on how homeschoolers should navigate the in-car portion of the driver’s education program, you can download this form from the DMV. Here, you’ll learn more about:
- Testing instructions
- Student driver requirements
- Parent/guardian qualifications
- Driver’s license issuance
Alternative: Parent-Led In-Car Instruction for Homeschoolers
Are you a parent of a homeschooler who would like to participate in your child’s Virginia homeschool driver’s education? Complete the Parental Authorization Application to request permission from the DMV to do so. When submitting it, include the following:
- A letter from your school division superintendent or designee acknowledging that your child is homeschooled.
- Proof that you’ve completed the in-classroom portion of the driver education program.
You can also include a copy of the “Notice of Intent to Provide Home Instruction” form you submitted to the local division superintendent/designee in lieu of that first bullet. Send all of these materials to the Department of Motor Vehicles, Commercial Licensing Work Center at:
PO. Box 27412
Richmond, VA 23269-0001
Is There a Homeschool Driver’s Ed Curriculum?
In short, there is no special driver’s ed curriculum “homeschool edition” with different rules or requirements. As long as your home school program is approved, every student within the specified age requirements must complete the same number of in-car hours and classroom driver education in Virginia.
If you would like more information on how to get your driver’s license if you’re homeschooled, check out the Virginia DMV’s driver education information for homeschooled students.
Colonial Driving School, Saved by Homeschooler
At Colonial Driving School, we are homeschool-friendly because homeschooling is part of our personal life and history!
Our online driver education business took root thanks to a senior project created by, you guessed it, a 17-year-old homeschool kid! With ingenuity and long-term vision, that kid turned a failing business into a thriving operation—doubling the clientele in six months and adding new teachers and services along the way.
Our CEO parented her four children from home and the local Virginia homeschool community is a major driver in our success. In other words, we are well-versed in this process.
Virginia Homeschool Driver’s Education at Your Service
We know the exact requirements you need to meet in your quest to fulfill the Virginia homeschool drivers education program. We’ll help you transition from your learner’s permit to your much-anticipated new license with ease, one step at a time.
For more information on the services we offer, get in touch today.
Meanwhile, we’d love for you to consider applying for a job at Colonial Driving School! From students to teachers, anyone with a passion for learning has a place here. Call 804-526-2197 to learn more.