Do I Need to Take a Speeding Ticket Class for Traffic Violations?
A speeding ticket isn’t the end of the world, but it can become a bigger issue if you don’t deal with it immediately. Thankfully, there’s a great solution: attending a DMV-approved driving school in Richmond, VA (or in whichever state you received the traffic violation).
If you receive a traffic violation in Virginia, it can negatively affect you and your driving ability. The best thing you can do is stay calm and look for an online or in-person speeding ticket class.
Do you know the potential consequences of a speeding ticket in Virginia?
What about a Virginia speeding ticket out of state requirements?
Do you know the best Virginia online traffic school?
Keep reading to learn more about speeding ticket violations, what to do when you receive one in or out of state, and the best Virginia traffic school to attend.
Consequences of a Speeding Ticket in Virginia
Every time you receive a speeding ticket in Virginia, the court will notify the DMV, and the DMV will:
- Post the violation on your driving record
- Assign demerit points according to the severity of the offense
- If applicable, issue a suspension or driver improvement course order
- Notify your insurance company
Apart from these consequences, speeding tickets usually come with a hefty fine.
Depending on your age and the severity of your speeding offense, these actions may be more or less severe and require varying measures on your part.
Speeding Violation Demerit Points
In Virginia, every speeding ticket will cause you to receive a certain number of negative driver points. The demerit points will remain valid for two years from the date of the violation.
Here’s a quick rundown of the demerit point system with the number of years that the violation stays on your record in parentheses.
The lowest possible violation puts three demerit points on your record. Three-point speeding offenses include:
- Speeding 1-9 mph above the speed limit (5 years)
- Slow speed that impedes traffic (5 years)
You’ll receive four points for more serious speeding violations. These could include:
- Failure to stop before entering a highway (11 years)
- Speeding 10-19 mph above the speed limit (5 years)
Lastly, the most severe speeding tickets put six points on your driving record. Six-point offenses are all classified as reckless driving, and these violations stay on your record for 11 years:
- Going faster than 85 mph
- Speeding 20 mph or more
- Passing or overtaking an emergency vehicle
- Passing a school bus
- Driving too fast for weather or road conditions
This list offers a sample of the various reckless driving offenses, but you can find a complete list on the DMV site.
Speeding Violation Age Requirements
Every Virginia speeding violation comes with demerit points regardless of the person’s age. However, your age will determine what other requirements you need to meet after receiving a speeding ticket.
Let's take a look at the difference between the consequences of speeding as a minor and speeding if you're older than age 18.
If you’re under the age of 18 and commit a speeding violation, you’ll be required to complete a driver improvement clinic.
A driver improvement clinic is a speeding ticket class that you take through Virginia DMV-approved traffic schools. These driving classes will be eight hours long and will reinforce defensive driving techniques. You can’t take this class online, so you’ll want to look for a Virginia traffic school that offers an in-person course.
Once you receive a speeding ticket, you must take a driving course after a speeding ticket within ninety days of the offense. Otherwise, the DMV will suspend your license.
18 or Older
A speeding ticket at age 18 or 19 will require you to enroll in and complete a driver improvement clinic within ninety days of the offense. Failure to do so will result in a license suspension.
Here are some further demerit point issues to keep in mind if you’re over 18:
- Receive eight demerit points in 12 months, and you’ll receive a cautionary letter.
- Accumulate 12 demerit points in 12 months, and you’ll be required to take an in-person driver improvement clinic at a driving school for tickets in VA.
- Accrue 18 demerit points in 12 months, and you’ll get a 90-day suspension, required driving course order, and a six-month probationary period once you get your license back.
The bottom line is this: receiving one driving violation is not a big deal, but repetitive violations can lead to serious consequences like a significant expense, inconvenience, and getting banned from the road, which can adversely affect your life and work.
Why Attend a Speeding Ticket Class
The main reason for taking a speeding ticket class is because the DMV requires it. But did you know there are other benefits to attending a Virginia traffic school?
Here are three other reasons why you should sign up for and finish a Virginia DMV-approved traffic school:
- Keeps you from paying the fine: speeding tickets come with fines that be hundreds of dollars. If you choose to take a driving course, then you won’t need to pay the fine.
- Helps keep insurance premiums low: Receiving a speeding ticket can cause your insurance premiums to increase. By taking a driver improvement course, you can keep them from rising.
- Gives you “good driver points”: Like receiving demerit points for getting a speeding ticket, you can get good driver points for voluntarily taking a driving course.
Virginia Speeding Ticket Out of State
Everything we’ve talked about so far has been targeted toward Virginia residents. But what if you’re from another state and get a speeding ticket in Virginia?
The first thing you should do as an out-of-state driver is check the ticket to see if it’s a speeding ticket or reckless driving ticket. Both will come with a fine, but reckless driving may also require you to appear in court.
Second, you should look into a Virginia online traffic school or in-person traffic school in your state. Often, the Virginia DMV will allow you to take a course in your home state to count toward your violation in Virginia. However, you may need to take an online VA driver course to satisfy a Virginia out-of-state speeding ticket requirement.
Ultimately, it’s best to check with your state driver’s license office and the Virginia DMV to see what they’ll accept.
The Top Driving School in Richmond, VA
When Virginia residents receive a speeding ticket, it’s essential to start looking for a traffic school to go to in Virginia. A speeding ticket class will help you satisfy any DMV speeding violation requirements that might keep you off the road.
Even more beneficial, attending a Virginia traffic school can alleviate the financial burden of paying the fine, keep your insurance premiums low, and provide you with good driver points.
When searching for a Virginia traffic school, it’s important to remember that you’ll need a DMV-approved course and potentially a school that offers an in-person class.
Are you searching for the best Virginia traffic school for tickets?
Colonial Driving School has excellent instructors, friendly staff, and flexible scheduling. And if you’re wondering, “How much is driving school for speeding tickets?” we have affordable prices. Our online and in-person driver improvement classes are DMV-approved and perfect for anyone who has recently received a speeding ticket.
- Register for our online driver improvement clinic
- Register for our in-person driver improvement clinic
Whichever course you choose, you’ll satisfy DMV requirements and be back on the road in no time.