There are many rites of passage that signal the passing from childhood to adulthood in the American society. One of those rites includes obtaining a driver’s license. Driving can be exciting, but it also requires a lot of practice and responsibility. It is a big step for teenagers to take on their journey to adulthood.
There are several steps to follow to get a driver’s license for teenagers in Virginia.
Obtaining a Learner’s Permit
The first step is obviously to acquire a learner’s permit from the DMV. Virginia law requires that teenagers be at least 15 and 6 months old to acquire a learner’s permit. Teens must have the permission of their parent or legal guardian before obtaining a permit. In order to apply, teens must do the following:
- Complete the driver’s license application
- Have proof of identity and proof of Virginia residency
- Provide their social security number
- Pass the two part knowledge test
- Pass the vision test
- Pay the $3 permit fee and the $4 license fee
The learner’s permit allows Virginia teens to drive while under the supervision of an adult at least 21 years of age or older.
Obtaining a License
In Virginia, teens must be 16 and 3 months old in order to obtain a driver’s license. The steps for obtaining a license are as follows:
- Teens must complete a driver’s ed course that consists of 64 hours of in-class and behind the wheel instruction.
- Once the course is completed, teens must bring their certificate of completion to the DMV office along with the below items.
- Must have the Virginia Driver’s License Registration completed.
- Proof of identity, residency, and social security
- Proof of completed 45 hours of behind-the-wheel training
- Must pass the vision test
- Must pass the road skills test
Once you complete these steps, you’re on the fast track to obtaining your license. Congratulations! To learn more about Virginia driving laws and getting a driver’s license for teenagers in Virginia, visit http://www.dmv.org/va-virginia/.