Driving School for Teens in Chesterfield, Virginia
The Four Steps to Getting a License
Our classroom curriculum has been approved by the Department of Education to be a comprehensive overview for Chesterfield drivers. During the course, the students will learn a variety of different concepts, techniques, and strategies to help minimize risk. This 30 hour course is offered in monthly modules for $250. You can register over the phone or in person.
In addition to completing Classroom, students will need to complete 45 hours of supervised driving with their parents (15 of which must be at night), take in-vehicle Behind-the-Wheel instruction, and successfully pass the road skills examination before we can issue them their provisional driver’s license.
Note: We also offer Private Driving Lessons for families of teens that need a trained professional to teach their teen the basics, in a specially equipped driving-school vehicle. Please call the office for details.
Behind-the-Wheel consists of seven lessons. As mandated by state law, each lesson consists of 50 minutes of drive time and 50 minutes of observation time for each student. Sessions are conducted in a specially equipped DMV certified Driver’s Ed vehicle and include a combination of back roads, city, and highway driving. We administer the DMV road skills examination on the 7th lesson, and if the student passes and all the other requirements are met, we issue the student’s provisional driver’s license. The price is $235. You can register over the phone or in person.
This is an exciting and important course for all teenagers. Our DMV Certified Instructors are specially trained to provide each student with the confidence and technique necessary to operate a motor vehicle safely and responsibly in Chesterfield, Virginia. At Colonial Driving School we pride ourselves most highly on our in-vehicle courses and amazing curriculum.
If you need Classroom and Behind-the-Wheel at the same time, you can take both courses for a discount of over a hundred dollars! If you have had your learner’s for close to nine months and you have completed your parent-supervised hours, give us a call and see if you can take advantage of this amazing deal.
This course is for students who have already successfully completed the Classroom portion of Drivers Ed in high school, Assuming all other requirements are satisfied, we’re authorized to issue you your license directly after your last class! Give us a call to register and get scheduled today.